Skip to main content
World Cup

Americans Need To Watch The World Cup This Year

World CupThe 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup began last Saturday June 6th in Canada. With 24 teams competing for the title, USA ranks 2nd after Germany.

The United States Women’s National Team is making their 7th appearance this year and currently has won two titles and is searching for their third.

Fox is broadcasting every game and Americans, now more than ever, should tune in. Here are the top reasons why:

1. The games are being held in Canada. Host cities include Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Montreal and Moncton. Not only are all these destinations great vacation spots, but they are also in close proximity to The States.

2. Tickets are relatively inexpensive. Compared to the men’s world cup, tickets for the Women’s World Cup final are at most $1,530, where as a ticket for the men’s averaged around $5,956.

3. Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach will be playing up top together. The world can expect great things from these two spectacular athletes, and Americans should be thrilled to watch them score some goals. Abby Wambach’s goal in the 2011 FIFA World Cup was voted as the greatest goal in FIFA World Cup history. Wambach headed the ball in the back of the net in the quarter-final against Brazil to tie the game up in the final seconds of over time. This goal brought the game into penalty kicks in which USA came out on top. And Alex Morgan is fully recovered from her knee injury and ready to compete. Morgan suffered a bone bruise in her knee and was out during the month of April. Now that she is ready to play, the US will be very tough to beat.

4. Revenge over Germany. In 2003 The United States hosted the FIFA Women’s World Cup and Germany beat The US on their turf in the quarterfinals. The US had just won the 1999 World Cup and was expected to win back-to-back titles. This year, according to FiveThirtyEight Germany and The United States both have about 40% chance of making it to the finals. Also, last world cup in 2011 The US team lost to Japan by penalty kicks in the finals. So this year’s team is determined to win.

5. Team USA has a tough schedule. The US, ranked 2nd, was placed in Group D along with Sweden(5), Australia(10), and Nigeria(33). This tough bracket means all games are going to be close and exciting. Below is the schedule for all the games.

USA vs. Australia: Monday June 8th- 7:00pm
USA vs. Sweden: Friday June 12th- 8:00pm Fox
USA vs. Nigeria: Tuesday June 16th Fox
Round of 16: begins Saturday June 20th
Quarter finals: begin Friday June 26th
Semi finals: begin Tuesday June 30th
Finals: Sunday July 5th at 7:00pm

So be sure to follow your United States Women’s national team through their 2015 FIFA World Cup journey, it should be an exciting one!

Kris Baker

Kris Baker is the President of Demosphere and has been serving the Youth Sports Community since 2006.